EXCLUSIVE WhoMadeWho & Ruede Hagelstein ‘Violently Happy’ [Watergate Records]

Watergate 26 comes from no others than Jeppe Kjellberg, Tomas Barford and Tomas Høffding, better known under their WhoMadeWho moniker. The Danish trio, founded in Copenhagen in 2003, has delivered seven albums as well as a wealth of singles and remixes since their first official appearance, so consequently the 26th installment of Watergate’s renowned mix-series includes a variety of own works or cooperations with artists such as Ruede Hagelstein or Artbat but, of course, also takes and edits from other producers and WhoMadeWho favorites. While WhoMadeWho’s Watergate 26 Mix, a 87-minute reflection of the trio’s current musical being, was out April 5th, 2019, the time has now come to release a couple of musical pieces from the mix in full length and glance. As the tracks ‘Closer’, a cooperation with Artbat, and ‘Montserra (Artbat Edit)’ were already released in mid-April, the first full EP, consisting of eight exclusive tracks, will see the light of day shortly.

The first cut on the EP is WhoMadeWho’s cooperation with Berliner Ruede Hagelstein called ‘Violently Happy’, a Björk cover, a paradox but only regarding the track title as the take in general, despite the fact that four people worked on it, is a harmonious achievement that depicts several musical influences of the musicians. ‘Violently Happy’ covers the musical range and depth evoked by the hunting vocals which are supported by a seemingly funky bass line. And with ‘Violently Happy’ WhoMadeWho’s musical circle is completed, for this very moment, as the first tracks ever the band released were cover-songs too.

Watergate 26 EP #1‘ will be released on Watergate Records May 6th, 2019.

Comments are closed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑